Who is the longest-reigning monarch in historic previous as Queen Elizabeth II dies at 96?


Queen Elizabeth II died aged 96 on Thursday, September 8, at Balmoral Castle in Scotland. Her Majesty was the longest-reigning monarch in Britain’s historic previous!

After the lack of lifetime of her father, King George VI, Elizabeth III ascended the throne on February 6, 1952. She grew to grow to be the first British monarch to rejoice a platinum jubilee this yr.

During her 70-year-long reign, the monarch dominated over the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Original Caption

Who is the longest-reigning monarch in historic previous?

The title of the longest-reigning monarch in historic previous belongs to France’s King Louis XIV, who dominated for 72 years. He was additionally referred to as Louis the Great, Louis the Grand Monarch and the Sun King.

King Louis was born on September 5, 1638. He ascended the throne in 1643 – when he was merely 4 years and eight months of age.

He reigned over France for 72 years, until 1715. He is credited for developing the opulent palace of Versailles, an essential historic landmark in modern-day France and a UNESCO world heritage web site.

Queen Elizabeth II is the second-longest-reigning monarch on the planet, falling two years in want of matching King Louis XIV’s milestone and three years in want of surpassing it.

Photo by DeAgostini/Getty Images

Queen Elizabeth II surpassed Queen Victoria’s tenure in 2015

It was in 2015 that Queen Elizabeth II grew to grow to be Britain’s longest-reigning monarch, surpassing her great-great-grandmother Queen Victoria’s reign.

Queen Victoria born in 1819. She dominated over the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland from 1837 until her lack of life in 1901. Her reign was 64 years prolonged.

She was moreover the Empress of India from 1876–1901.

Queen Elizabeth II moreover surpassed the extended reign of Thai King Bhumibol Adulyadej, who dominated the nation from 1946 until his lack of life in 2016.

10 completely different longest-reigning monarchs of the world

Here’s a list of the ten longest-reigning monarchs of the world after King Louis XIV and Queen Elizabeth II:

  • Johann II, Liechtenstein (70-year reign)
  • Ok’inich Janaab’ Pakal, Palenque (68-year reign)
  • Victoria, United Kingdom (63-year reign)
  • Honoré III, Monaco (62-year reign)
  • Hirohito (Emperor Shōwa), Japan (62-year reign)
  • Quianlong Emperor, China (60-year reign)
  • Christian IV, Denmark-Norway (59-year reign)
  • Elizabeth II, Jamaica (59-year reign)
  • George III, United Kingdom (59-year reign)
  • Louis XV, France (59-year reign)

Comments are closed.