UK’s Oath of Allegiance updated as King Charles III ascends to the throne


What is the UK’s new Oath of Allegiance, who has to swear it and what happens if MPs refuse as King Charles III ascends to the British throne?

As the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth and the broader world mourn the tragic lack of Queen Elizabeth II, changes are afoot inside every governmental protection and monarchy-related suggestions.

Of course, the overwhelming majority of discussions embody changes to the nationwide anthem, stamps and foreign exchange; nonetheless, there are moreover updates to the UK’s Oath of Allegiance.

With the very best of respect to the Royal family; what’s the UK’s new Oath of Allegiance, which public servants have to swear it sooner than taking office and what happens to those who refuse?

What is the UK’s Oath of Allegiance?

The UK Oath of Allegiance is a promise to be loyal to the British monarchy, his or her heirs and successors, sworn by specific public servants of the United Kingdom and new subjects in citizenship ceremonies.

On September 8th, Queen Elizabeth II handed away peacefully at Balmoral, Scotland. As such, the UK’s Oath of Allegiance was robotically updated to include the commemoration of King Charles III, her son, who ascends the throne of the British monarchy.

The UK’s new Oath of Allegiance is now the subsequent, with the current phrase standing in accordance with these set out throughout the Promissory oaths Act of 1868:

“I, (Insert full name), do swear that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to His Majesty King Charles III, his heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God.”

The inclusion of plurals for ‘heirs and successors’ is completed on perform, as a result of it signifies that any oath given to the British monarchy is equally minimize up for all potential heirs and successors to the British throne. It does moreover not end with the dying of the monarch.

Per ‘The First Part of the Institutes of the Laws of England, Or, A Commentary Upon Littleton’, the first Oath of Allegiance was carried out to King Edgar (959-975 AD) and was doubtlessly instituted by King Arthur.

According to Royal Greenwich, there could also be actually two completely completely different Oath of Allegiances for subjects in citizenship ceremonies.

The first is known as The Declaration and reads: “I (your full identify) swear by Almighty God that on turning into a British citizen, I can be devoted and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, her heirs and successors in keeping with legislation.

Whereas The Affirmation holds no reference to spiritual context, studying: “I (your full name) do solemnly, sincerely and truly declare and affirm that on becoming a British Citizen I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, her heirs and successors according to law.”

After reciting each of The Declaration or The Affirmation, subjects then make the Pledge of Commitment. This consists of, “I will give my loyalty to the United Kingdom and respect its rights and freedoms. I will uphold its democratic values. I will observe its laws faithfully and fulfil my duties and obligations as a British citizen.”

This content material materials couldn’t be loaded

Who has to take the Oath of Allegiance?

The Oath of Allegiance is sworn by members of the judiciary (judges), clergy of The Church of England, cops, members of the Armed Forces and public officers, amongst many others; nonetheless, not all people swears the entire assertion.

For occasion, Members of the judiciary swear their allegiance to the queen, and to her heirs and successors; cops in England and Wales pledge their allegiance to the queen, nonetheless not her heirs and successors.

Meanwhile, Northern Ireland Assembly and the Police Service of Northern Ireland members don’t swear an oath of allegiance, neither do the Scottish Police. Members of the Privy Council solely swear allegiance to the “Queen’s majesty”, to not the queen’s heirs and successors.

Office holders who have to swear the Oath of Allegiance consists of:

  • First Lord of the Treasury 
  • Second Lord of the Treasury
  • Lord Chancellor
  • Lord President of the Council
  • Lord Privy Seal
  • Secretaries of State
  • President of the Board of Trade
  • Lord Steward
  • Lord Chamberlain
  • Earl Marshal
  • Master of the Horse
  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  • Paymaster General
  • Keeper of the Great Seal of Scotland 
  • Keeper of the Privy Seal of Scotland
  • Lord Clerk Register
  • Advocate General for Scotland
  • Lord Justice Clerk
  • First Minister of Wales 

Interestingly, the Royal Navy was up until simply currently the one division of the British Armed Forces who didn’t take the Oath of Allegiance as a result of the division is maintained by the Royal Prerogative, not an Act of Parliament.

Per the Monarchy of Briton webpage, “This is still the case for officers as, by nature of the Navy’s authority deriving from the Crown and not Parliament, the loyalty of naval officers to the Sovereign is taken for granted.”

“I… swear by Almighty God (do solemnly, and truly declare and affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to His Majesty King Charles III, His Heirs and Successors, and that I will, as in duty bound, honestly and faithfully defend His Majesty, His Heirs and Successors, in Person, Crown and Dignity against all enemies, and will observe and obey all orders of His Majesty, His Heirs and Successors, and of the (admirals / generals/ air officers) and officers set over me. (So help me God.)” – Oath of Allegiance for the Armed Forces.

This content material materials couldn’t be loaded

What happens if someone refuses to swear allegiance?

Whilst this all sounds very administrative and symbolic, what happens if an MP refuses to swear the Oath of Allegiance?

Well, primarily based on the UK Parliament website online, “MPs cannot take their seat, speak in debates, vote or receive a salary until taking the oath or affirmation. They could also be fined £500 and have their seat declared vacant “as if they were dead” within the occasion that they tried to take motion. The comparable rule applies to Members of the Lords.”

Scottish Parliament members ought to take the Oath of Allegiance inside two months of being elected and within the occasion that they fail to take motion, they cease to be members and their seat is vacated.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

Comments are closed.